Shader Performance

hi,

I tried running a couple of shaders and was disappointed that the FPS is pretty low even for fairly simple shaders.

I guess this is a limitation of the hardware - does the Pi even have a GPU? Any tips for improving performance in the shader or in the hardware?

thanks!

• Felix

BTW I’m on a Pi 3

Hey Felix —

We’ve actually been pleasantly surprised at how smoothly most of the shaders we’ve tried run, but I don’t think we’ve tried anything super complex. The Pi certainly has a GPU, which is what allows shaders to work on it… on the Pi 3, it’s a Broadcom VideoCore IV.

I’m not an expert in shaders by any means — we can check with Patricio Gonzalez Vivo (who created The Book of Shaders).

Out of curiosity, do you have a link to the shader you’re trying to run?

Hi Felix,

The Raspberry Pi 3 GPU is relatively week. Even if the drivers are not highly optimised, there is just a limit to what you can do.

For the same price of a Raspberry Pi 3 you can get a Hardkernel Odroid computer with ARM Mali GPU.

The XU4 has a fan, is a bit noisy. But even the C2 would give you much better graphics performance.

This video shows some WebGL demos running on the XU4, this should give you an idea of what’s possible with a computer selling for $74.00. You can run Android, Ubuntu, and Tizen on the Odroid XU4.

So maybe running openframe on an Odroid would give you the needed performance. I can do a test, if you are interested. Just point me to some example code which you want to run.

• Raju

Thanks for the response guys. It totally makes sense that the Pi would have limited performance. I will look into the Ordroid as an alternative.